IFCL honored at the Indiana High School Press Association’s annual fall convention

Quaker IFCL Ingelhart Award
The Indiana High School Press Association honors IFCL and State Representatives:
Rep. Ed DeLaney, D—Indianapolis, Rep. Ed Clere, R—New Albany and Dr. Bill Chapman, IFCL lobbyist.

The Indiana Friends Committee on Legislation was honored at the Indiana High School Press Association’s annual fall convention Friday, Oct. 20, for support of a First Amendment bill for student journalists. Dr. Bill Chapman, IFCL lobbyist, accepted the award on behalf of the organization’s effort during the 2017 legislative session.

New Voices legislation speaks to the Quaker belief in “truth to power.” Some high schools throughout the country promote strong journalism programs and encourage students to report about important issues that relate to teenagers.
But some administrators control potentially controversial coverage, a practice that has prompted some states to pass specific legislation to ensure that students attending public high schools can report about relevant topics. Illinois passed a similar bill year.

IHSPA also honored Rep. Ed Clere, R-New Albany and Rep. Ed DeLaney, D-Indianapolis, the New Voices bill sponsors.

Steve Key, general counsel for the Hoosier State Press Association, also was recognized at the Friday convention. Key was awarded the Ingelhart several years ago and continues to work for IHSPA issues on multiple levels.

The Indiana High School Press Association has supported student journalism since the organization was founded at Franklin College in 1922. The group’s “Friend of Journalism” award was named after Dr. Louis Ingelhart, a nationally recognized advocate for student press throughout his career at Ball State University.

Representatives Clere and DeLaney plan to work with students for similar legislation during the 2018 session.

Those with questions about the legislation are welcome to contact IFCL for more information.




Indiana Friends Committee on Legislation
1723 Ramsey Lane Plainfield, IN 46168

© IFCL 2017